To keep children safe when they are on the road, Ohio has come up with their own car seat laws. This law is designed to keep all children, regardless of their age, weight, and height, safe when traveling in the state.
Parents who want to avoid problems with the law and ensure that their children are as safe as possible when on the road need to make sure that they fully understand these laws and that they follow them. Doing this will ensure that children are safe and that parents can avoid problems in the event of an accident.
What the Ohio State Law Says About Staying Safe with a Car Seat
Ohio car seat laws are very clear, which makes it easy for parents and guardians to follow the law and keep their children safe. When traveling in Ohio, all children who are under four years old or weigh less than 40 pounds must, at all times, use a child safety seat.
Additionally, children who are under eight years old must be in a booster seat. This ensures that the seat belt rests properly on their body and provides the necessary restraint without the child being in danger. Children who are at least 4’9”, however, can skip the booster seat, even if they are under eight years old. This is because they are tall enough that the lap and shoulder belt will rest correctly on their body and protect them in an accident.
Children who are between 8 and 15 years old must have a child safety seat or a safety belt that they use at all times when riding in a vehicle.
The Ohio Booster Seat Law
Children riding in vehicles in Ohio must use a booster seat once they have gotten too big for their car safety seat. This generally occurs when the child weighs 40 pounds and is four years old, but there are some seats that have higher weight limits. This means that parents need to pay attention to the restrictions on the car seat they use.
A child should continue to use a booster seat until they are eight years old or until they are at least 4’9” tall.
When to Move From a Booster to the Seat Belt
It’s imperative that parents and guardians understand when they can move children from a booster seat to let them use the vehicle’s seat belt. Moving a child too early can be dangerous, as the belt simply won’t be able to protect them correctly if it doesn’t fit the body.
Booster seats are used to raise a child up so that the shoulder and lap belt in a vehicle will fit them correctly. It is safest to follow the manufacturer’s recommendations on the booster seat and leave the child in the seat for as long as possible, giving them plenty of time to get tall enough to use the shoulder and lap belt.
The lap belt should fit low on the hips and snug against the upper thighs. If it rides up to the stomach then the child is not big enough to use this belt.
The shoulder belt should cross directly in the middle of the shoulder and chest of the child sitting in the seat. It should not pass on the neck or throat of the child, which can put them in danger in an accident or if the driver slams on their brakes.
Since every child is built differently and has a different body, parents need to carefully consider how the shoulder and the lap belt fits their child before moving them from the booster seat.
Fines Drivers Face
Drivers who violate the Ohio Car Seat Law will be fined a minimum of $25. They can receive fines up to $75 for each infraction.
The Ohio Car Seat Law was created to keep children safe when they are in a vehicle, which is why parents and guardians need to follow it so carefully. Following the law and making sure that children of all ages and sizes are protected in the car is key to preventing injury or death in the event of an accident. Not following this law has consequences, so parents and guardians need to make sure that they understand it.